Superfood Almond Butter Cups

Chocolate is my kryptonite. Life without it sounds like pure torture to me; it’s my favorite indulgence. I particularly love dark chocolate, which is fitting since it’s definitely healthier than the milk chocolate alternative.

Dark chocolate contains antioxidants and fiber as well as minerals such as iron, copper, and manganese. Do a quick search on the internet for the benefits of eating dark chocolate and you’ll get a variety of pleasing results. Cardiovascular health, brain function, skin protection, improved blood flow…the list goes on and on!

IMG_5250

However, as Sarah Wilson explains in her quick comparison of cocoa and cacao; these studies fail to mention that they are using pure, usually unprocessed chocolate – cacao! Unfortunately Hershey’s, as well as most brands, don’t fall into that category. Look for DARK dark chocolate (I’m talking 70-80% cacao people!).

Your other option? Make it yourself! Invest in some quality cacao powder. This powder is the ground up seeds and is easily found in health food stores or online. I love adding it to a banana smoothie for a protein, healthy fat, and antioxidant boost as well as a chocolatey flavor!

IMG_5249

These simple almond butter cups were the result of my constant craving for chocolate. I decided to throw some tasty, nutritious ingredients together and my creativity was rewarded – these are delicious!

I named them superfood almond butter cups because they also contain coconut oil, a more popular superfood. I’ll save all my blabbing about that for another post 😉

IMG_5242

Enjoy these! I take no (ok, full) responsibility for their addicting qualities!

– Ingredients –

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 tbsp coconut nectar

1/4 cup cacao powder

1/4 tsp almond butter

– Recipe –

  1. Heat coconut oil and coconut nectar over low heat in a pan. Mix continuously and remove from heat as soon as they have combined.
  2. Add in cacao powder and stir furiously. This needs to be quick because you don’t want the ingredients to burn!
  3. Use a spoon to ladle chocolate sauce into a chocolate mold sheet, filling each mold about halfway, then drop 1/4 tsp almond butter into the center and cover with chocolate!
  4. Freeze for 2 hours or until you can’t wait any longer…Enjoy!
  5. I used a small peanut butter cup mold and this recipe made about 5 for me! It can easily be doubled, tripled, quadrupled…but do so at your own risk!!

One thought on “Superfood Almond Butter Cups

Leave a Reply

