Lemony Kale Pesto

Summer is, sadly, coming to a close and I of course made the wise (not wise) decision of taking an accelerated 3 week course to finish mine off. Needless to say I am occasionally overly ambitious, but I’m suffering through and hoping the quick 3 credits will be worth a little extra stress and time spent indoors. I’m swamped with work, so everything I’ve been cooking falls into the little effort and quick category. Such as this delicious pesto sauce!

This recipe has been in my head for a while; I first decided I wanted to make a pesto when I feasted on gnocchi coated in it’s green goodness while in Paris. I didn’t want to make just any pesto though! I was considering how I could amp up the nutrition in an already pretty healthy sauce. Sneaking in another green in addition to basil seemed like a simple way. So I made one composed of my boyfriend’s (healthy) favorite things – lemon and kale!

IMG_5181

This recipe requires little time and effort – which made its preparation the perfect study break. I’ve had it on pasta, tossed with sautéed  veggies, and as a spread on a sandwich – all simple and tasty dishes!

– Ingredients –

2 cups chopped Tuscan kale

1/2 basil packed tightly

1/4 cup chopped, toasted walnuts

2 cloves garlic

1/4 cup olive oil

2 1/2 tbsp lemon juice (2 small lemons)

1/2 tsp lemon zest (1 small lemon)

2 tsp nutritional yeast

pinch of sea salt

sprinkle of black pepper

sprinkle of red pepper flakes (for a little spice!)

– Recipe –

  1. Toast your walnuts by chopping them up and heating them in a frying pan over medium heat until fragrant and slightly browned.
  2. Juice and zest the lemons.
  3. Add all ingredients into a high speed blender or food processor and process until a thick green paste forms.
  4. Store in an airtight jar in the refrigerator and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

