Ancient Grain Yam Nuggets

Summertime BBQs are in full swing around here, and with them comes the need for easily prepared and pleasing foods. When I think of a BBQ, I think of hamburgers, hotdogs, corn on the cob, quick cold salads such as coleslaw or pasta salad, and of course lots of dessert!

If you’re an herbivore like myself – BBQs can be rough. Generally there are few options, and I typically end up eating about half of the veggie platter or munching on snacks. These little guys saved the day this past weekend when my family hosted a BBQ. I made a batch for my vegan cousin and I – they’re delicious!    

IMG_5027IMG_5025

I served them with a side of organic ketchup and felt like I fit right in at the BBQ without sacrificing my normal eating habits.

I’m always looking for a way to sneak some more healthy foods into the mix. I get it, a BBQ is about relaxing, treating yourself, and spending time with family and good friends. That doesn’t mean you should totally kick your health to the curb though! Practice balance and moderation always. How about a whole wheat bun with that burger? Fresh fruit with whipped coconut or regular cream for dessert?

IMG_5026

I was perfectly content with these ancient grain yam nuggets. Moist, a little crunchy, and satisfying, these nuggets are sure to please the taste buds and the body! They’re loaded with beautiful, nutritious foods. Both freekeh and quinoa contain 6 grams of protein per serving, are low in fat and high in complex carbohydrates. Yams provide starchy carbs, choline, folate, and Vitamin A. Yay for healthy nuggets!

This was my first time making Freekeh, I think it fit well in these little patties but I’m looking forward to trying it on its own as well. Anyone know any good recipes?!

– Ingredients – 

2 yams/sweet potatoes

1/4 cup quinoa

1/4 cup freekeh

sea salt

black pepper

chili powder

garlic powder

– Recipe – 

1. Preheat the oven to 375º Fahrenheit. Wash and pierce yams and place them in the oven. Allow to cook for approximately 45 minutes or until tender.

2. Cook the quinoa and freekeh separately and according to package instructions. After cooked, pour the grains into a mixing bowl while you wait for the yams.

3. When finished cooking, immediately slice open the yams and scoop out the orange flesh. Add this to the quinoa and freekeh mixture and use a fork to mash and combine.

4. Add in the sea salt, black pepper, chili powder, and garlic powder. I did about 1/4 – 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp chili powder. I usually just season and taste as I go.

5. Wipe / spray a baking sheet with a little olive oil. Use a tablespoon to portion the mixture and form into balls. Press the yam ball down lightly once on the pan to form the patty/nugget shape. Once all the nuggets are on the pan (I got about 16-20) lightly brush each one with olive oil.

6. Bake at 375º Fahrenheit for 20 – 25 minutes. Let them cool and enjoy! Store them in an airtight container in the refrigerator overnight if eating the next day.

Leave a Reply

