Beetiful Smoothie

Can you guess what is giving my smoothie its beautiful, vibrant color? If you were quick enough to notice my little play on words in the title (I know, I’m so clever) then you’ve probably realized there are beets in this smoothie!

IMG_3723

I have to admit, the idea of tossing some cubed up beets into a fruit smoothie does sound risky and maybe even a little strange. But I promise it’s worth a try! They add amazing color and nutrients to this otherwise simple smoothie. Plus, the earthy, vegetable flavor is mostly hidden by the addition of raspberries!

I have been waiting for Spring since Winter started. Don’t get me wrong, the winter is beautiful. The air is crisp and the sight of freshly fallen snow is truly beautiful. Here in New Jersey, and most of the east coast, this particular winter brought record-breaking low temperatures and tons of snow. Needless to say, when the first day of Spring rolled around and I still needed my winter coat I was not a happy camper. Now that it is FINALLY getting nicer out, I decided to change up my smoothies a bit – try something new and fresh for Spring!

IMG_3724

What better way to do so than throwing a random veggie in? I still love my Morning Greens Smoothie but I just couldn’t resist trying beets when I stumbled across some pictures of smoothies incorporating them.

Beets are, in my opinion, underrated. They’re delicious and provide ample doses of Iron, Calcium, Folate, Omega-3 and 6, Magnesium, Potassium, and Phosphorous! Plus they’re absolutely stunning, and when boiled ahead of time, they blend easily into a smoothie. This smoothie just happened to match my fuzzy purple bathrobe too 🙂 I can’t think of a better way to start my day!

– Ingredients – 

2 bananas (1 frozen + 1 fresh)

1 cup frozen raspberries

1/2 cup cubed, boiled red beets

1/2 cup liquid (water or milk of choice)

6-8 ice cubes (if needed)

– Recipe –

1. To cook my beets, I boil them for about 30 minutes with the skin on. After draining them the skin will come right off when you rub a napkin against it. I recommend using something other than your hands, unless you don’t mind having pink hands!

2. Place all ingredients into a blender and blend blend blend! I always start out with less liquid and add if I think it’s needed to avoid accidentally making a runny smoothie!

3. Pour into a cute glass (or drink right out of the blender…), admire, and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Beetiful Smoothie

Leave a Reply

