Coconut Crunch Granola

For me, few things trump making a recipe that my family goes nuts for. When I first made this granola it was a little bit of an experiment gone wrong. I had been hoping for breakfast bars to send to school with my boyfriend, but when I went to cut the pan into bars they crumbled! At first I was frustrated. It’s always a bummer when a recipe doesn’t go as planned, but then I realized that in failing to make a granola bar I’d made granola. Seems obvious, but sometimes it is hard to look past failure to see the positives.

IMG_3670

I broke apart the rest of the granola bar failures and packed it into a tubaware to send with him. He loved the granola and so did my family after stealing a taste. I’ve made it quite a few times since then and it’s always a hit. This last batch I made in the evening, packed it into a tubaware after it cooled, and left it on the counter for breakfast the next morning. I was out early and was gone most of the next day, but when I finally returned the granola was…gone!! Only crumbs were left and of course all the good stuff had been picked out.

IMG_3682

Despite what I’ve chosen to call it, it doesn’t taste super coconutty. It is made with coconut oil and shredded coconut, so it’s definitely in there, but there are so many other flavors as well. If coconut isn’t your favorite flavor, I would say to try it anyway because I don’t find it to be overpowering at all.

Fat gets a bad reputation because many people automatically assume that all fats are the same, and all are unhealthy. You NEED to consume fat!! It’s all about which fats you eat and how much of them! The fat in coconut oil is saturated fat, which has an even worse reputation. It is made up of medium chain fatty-acids; this type of saturated fat is brought straight to the liver instead of the lymph system. The liver quickly converts them into ketone bodies which provide easy energy to the body. Coconut oil has actually been shown to improve the blood lipid profile! If you’ve never tried it before, this recipe is the perfect opportunity.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 & 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup dry roasted sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

Instructions: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Combine the oats, melted coconut oil, honey, salt and cinnamon in a mixing bowl. Stir until the mixture is combined and all of the oats are coated.
  3. Add in all other ingredients and thoroughly combine.
  4. Lightly oil a 8 x 8 baking pan and spoon mixture into the pan.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes and allow the granola to cool for at least an hour, or until it is firm and no longer warm.

IMG_3681Any other granola lovers out there?! Let me know what you think of this one!

Leave a Reply

