Morning Greens

I love starting my day with a green smoothie, and this one is my current favorite. When I really like something I tend to get stuck on it, so I’ve been having this for breakfast almost every day! It’s easy, quick, delicious, and of course healthy!

My favorite part of this smoothie is that it only has three ingredients, and one of them is kale! It’s hard to imagine drinking a leafy green before you try it, believe me I know. When I first started stuffing my blender with greens my family gave me some strange looks. After all, pureed salad sounds a little suspicious! This smoothie is family approved though! It really is delicious. Even my sugarly-Frappuccino loving sister thought it was good!

IMG_3652Isn’t it gorgeous?

Ingredients

  • 2 bananas
  • Lacinato kale
  • Pineapple
  • Ice

Instructions 

1. Freeze chopped up kale overnight

2. Add bananas, a handful or two of kale and 1/2 – 1 cup pineapple to the blender

3. Add ice (I use 6 ice cubes) and blend thoroughly.

The smoothie should be silky smooth with no bits of greens left! The frozen kale blends easier for me than fresh and the soft bananas and fresh pineapple along with the ice add enough moisture that no liquid is needed unless desired!

Aside from being delicious, this smoothie provides you with a serving of greens first thing in the morning! An amble amount of carbs are supplied by the bananas and pineapple, while the kale contributes protein and some fats too!

What’s in it?

Lacinato Kale is rich in Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids, as well as Folate, Iron, Vitamin K, Vitamin C, Vitamin A, Potassium, Calcium, Magnesium, and Phosphorous. How’s that for a great start to the morning?

Bananas are famous for the Potassium content, rightfully so being that they pack 806mg per cup of mashed banana! They’re also loaded with Vitamin A, Vitamin C Folate, Choline, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids, as well as phytosterols! Yum!

Pineapple is a personal favorite of mine, it’s so sweet and refreshing! I could easily eat a whole pineapple. It too contains Potassium, as well as Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Folate, and Manganese.

IMG_3653

Snow doesn’t stop me from making smoothies all winter!

Fruit gives our bodies easily digestible carbohydrates, water, and lots of fiber – the perfect way to start the day! This smoothie always fills me up, but doesn’t make me feel bloated or too full.

Let me know what you think if you try it!

2 thoughts on “Morning Greens

Leave a Reply

