Energy Bites!

These little chewy and sweet snacks are sort of like a moist cookie, but pack a lot of nutrition! They’re almost like a blend of individual snacks rolled into one. The ingredients make them filling, healthy, and delicious as well!

I’ve seen quite a few recipes floating around for these… but this is my own take on it! I made these based on what I had a available and what I prefer. That’s one of my favorite things about them, if you don’t like an ingredient, or can’t find it, swap it out!

Here’s what I used for the base of my energy bites: dates, raw cacao powder, shredded coconut, pepitas, oats, and goji berries.

IMG_3218

The simplicity of this recipe is another great plus. Essentially we’re going to place everything into a food processor, bullet, or high-speed blender and combine it all into a sticky mush!

I find that the dates blend easiest if they have been soaked prior to blending. An hour or so should be fine or if you have very juicy dates you can skip this step! The mixture should become like a paste, so the dates really need to breakdown.

Pit the soaked dates and place 2 cups into your blender. Then add in 2 tablespoons of warm water, 1/4 cup of oats and 1/4 cup of pepitas. Blending the dates alone first and then adding in the oats and pepitas gives you the option of allowing bigger pieces of these ingredients to be present. If you’d like a smoother, combined mixture then adding all the ingredients at once is probably you’re best bet! Continue to add tablespoons of warm water as needed to aid in the blending process. I use 4-6 just depending on how the ingredients are breaking down.

IMG_3221IMG_3222

Next, place the date, oat and pepita mixture onto a suface and measure out 1/2 cup of shredded coconut and 1/4 cup of goji berries. Incorporate these ingredients into the paste. Once they are well combined, you’re ready to form them into little servings! I like to make mine into a cookie shape and I used a heaping tablespoon to make them all relatively the same size. They are going to be very sticky, so I recommend letting them sit over night, or for a few hours, to firm up.

IMG_3223IMG_3225

They’ll still be sticky, but after sitting for awhile it will be easier to manage. Now for the fun part… toppings! This is totally up to you, what you like or what you have. Here’s what I used: almond slivers, shredded coconut, cacao powder, oats, chia seeds, and goji berries.

IMG_3228

Be creative with it and create combinations that you like! Here I mixed oats and cacao powder together to coat two energy bites!

IMG_3232

I like to make a variety so I have different flavors and tastes to grab during the week. These make a great mid-afternoon snack. They fill you up, have a great balance of carbohydrates, proteins, and fat and pack a ton of nutrients!

IMG_3234IMG_3236

IMG_3235IMG_3233

I hope you enjoy this recipe!

Leave a Reply

